Excellence in Teaching Award

The Ball Brothers Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award will be given each year to not only a skilled teacher but one who incorporates 21st century skills such as critical thinking, problem-solving, creativity and collaboration.  This teacher uses unique approaches to motivate their students by creating authentic learning experiences that are grounded in core academic content. In addition, the outstanding teacher must have displayed integrity; responsibility to their community, students, colleagues and the school; and accountability to their area of academic training. The award winner should inspire students and colleagues; be poised, articulate and willing to go the extra mile to educate their students.

The Ball Brothers Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award is given in recognition of the values and entrepreneurial spirit that the founders of the Foundation held important with regard to education and student achievement.

How to apply

Eligibility: Eligibility is limited to public school teachers in grades K-12 in Delaware County. Candidates must have a minimum of three years teaching experience, be fully accredited to teach in the state of Indiana and be currently teaching in the classroom.

Nominations must be submitted by the superintendent of a public school in Muncie/Delaware County. Each school district is permitted to submit up to three nominations with no more than one nomination each from the elementary, middle and high school level.

Timeline: Nominations must follow Ball Brothers Foundation’s online application process and will be accepted beginning September 1st of each year. The deadline for submission is February 1st.  

Award: The Excellence in Teaching Award of $17,500 will be presented as a grant to be used to further support creativity and innovation in the school district ($5,000), school ($5,000) and classroom ($5,000) of the winning teacher. A portion of the grant ($2,500) will be specifically used for professional development opportunities selected by the winning teacher. The remaining finalists will be awarded a grant of $1,500 to be used in their classroom ($1,000) and for professional development ($500).

Information regarding the winner and finalists will be released to the media before the award is presented. The winner will be selected in April and the award presented in May of each year.


Application deadline is Feb. 1.

Erica Collins
Northside Middle School

Kristy Thompson
Wapahani High School

Chris Holdren
Selma Elementary School

Steve Spradlin
Northside Middle School

Renee Huffman
Burris Laboratory School

Julian Ravenscroft
Daleville Jr./Sr. High School

Holly Stachler
Pleasant View Elementary